Aug 26


7:30 PM

Gaslight Theater 2017 Charlie Awards

Please join us for Gaslight Theatre’s annual Charlie Awards ceremony honoring the best plays and performances of our Golden Anniversary Season. On Saturday, August 26th, the evening begins with socializing at 7:30pm in the CNB Center Grand Ballroom. Hors d’oeuvres and a cash bar will be available! Hosts Catherine Johnston & Darrell Todd will kick-off the awards ceremony at 8:00pm.

In addition to the season awards, four special awards will be announced: The Ron O’Neal Friend of the Theatre Award, The Gene Riggs Technical Award, The Gene Nash Memorial Scholarship and the “Toddy”. For more information about the meaning of these awards and how they are selected, please go to our website.

Entertainment will be provided by the season’s delightful musicals – Always, Patsy Cline, Title of Show and Best Little Whorehouse in Texas.

Tickets for the Charlie Awards are $20.00 if purchased by August 25th. They will be $25.00 after that and at the door. Tickets are available at the Gaslight Box Office during regular hours: Tuesday through Friday 2:00pm-5:30pm, or you can call the Box Office at 580-234-2307 and leave a message any time.

Since Gaslight will be celebrating the end of their 50th Anniversary season at this year’s ceremony, the theme for the Charlie Awards is “Cheers to 50 More”. 

The Charlie Awards were named in honor of Charles Norman Duff, a mainstay of Enid Community Theatre from its inception until his death in 1971. From his first role as a gangster in Mrs. McThing to his last as Oscar in The Odd Couple, Charles Norman Duff was a stellar performer.

In addition, he supported Gaslight Theatre in all aspects—from selling tickets to doing custodial work. The fact that he enjoyed all facets of the theatre was evident in his vast support and participation.

So please join us on August 26th as we honor live theatre in Enid, Oklahoma!

You may also be interested in